Continuous Voter Registration at Huduma Centres

NAIROBI: Monday, October 13, 2014
The IEBC has adopted a new voter registration outreach strategy. The public can now enroll as voters at the one-stop public service Huduma Centres. Nakuru and Kisii are among the first towns to offer IEBC officials desks to register voters using the Biometric Voter Registration (BVR) kits. Huduma Centres are convenient for voter registration because that is where the public go for primary documents for registration such as ID cards and Passports.

The IEBC is mandated by law to maintain an updated register of voters which it must regularly revise and update by adding those who have not registered and deleting the names of deceased voters. The Election Act 2011 says IEBC will “conduct a fresh voter registration, if necessary, at intervals of not less than eight years, and not more than twelve years, immediately after the Commission reviews the names and boundaries of the constituencies in accordance with Article 89 (2) of the Constitution”. The current exercise is not a fresh registration of voters.

University Students Learn about Electoral Systems

University students have been urged to take the lead role in conducting voter education in the community.

Speaking at a meeting with Moi University Applied Statistics students, IEBC Commissioner Muthoni Wangai said universities, being hubs of knowledge, should spearhead the inculcation of democratic principles and values in society.

IEBC officials took the students through management of electoral data as well as basics in voter education. The learners got a chance to interact with the Results Transmission System (RTS), Biometric Voter Registration (BVR) as well as Electronic Voter Identification (EVID).


IEBC Engages Voters at Nairobi Trade Fair

NAIROBI: Thursday, October 02, 2014
The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has joined hundreds of other exhibitors in showcasing its operations and activities at the ongoing Nairobi International Trade Fair.

Visitors to the IEBC stand are particularly interested in understanding electoral technologies including Biometric Voter Registration (BVR), Electronic Voter Identification (EVID and the Results Transmission System (RTS) among other electoral operations.

Over 30 IEBC staff are stationed at various desks to handle visitors’ concerns on various aspects of the electoral process. Continuous voter registration for Kibra constituency is also being conducted at the IEBC stand.


IEBC Builds Capacity on Electoral Conflict Prevention

NAIROBI: Monday, September 01, 2014
IEBC officials are undergoing training, in Naivasha and Kisumu, to help them with skills for identifying, preventing and mitigating election related risks.

The first to train are field officials, the Regional Election Coordinators (RECs) and the Constituency Election Coordinators (CECs), will cascade the trainings to other election officials.

The activity is part of the preparation for future elections and especially the 2017 General Elections. IEBC is partnering with various strategic stakeholders in the roll out of the training program. The Election Risk Management (ERM) tool is an International IDEA, sponsored by UNDP.

IEBC has mainstreamed the use of International IDEA Election Risk Management Tool within its structures under the Election Security Arrangement Project (ESAP).

IEBC Gives Out 200 BVR Kits for Civil Servants Registration

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) has today transferred 40 BVR Kits to the Ministry of Devolution and Planning for use in the biometric registration of civil servants.

This is the first batch of the 200 kits that the Planning ministry had requested from the Commission. The rest will be given out within a week as they have to be sourced form IEBC regional warehouses countrywide.

The voters’ data has been transferred and the system cleaned to allow for the loading of a new operating system and software for registration of public servants. Transfer of the kits took place in a brief ceremony held at the IEBC head office in Nairobi.


More Articles...

Page 1 of 24

IEBC Signature Tune