It takes more than IEBC to Conduct Good Elections

icps naivasha

Naivasha: Thursday, 26th June, 2014
The IEBC Chairman says it takes more than just the election management body to conduct good elections. He notes that the contribution of all stakeholders- the judiciary, legislative bodies security organs, political parties and media, among others. Mr. Hassan was addressing a meeting of the International Centre for Parliamentary Studies (ICPS) on Elections and Conflict Management. He also cautioned that social media must be used with lots of caution because it could easily raise political heat and even cause violence.


India to Train Kenyan Election Officials

Indian CommissionerIndian Election Commissioner H. S Brahma (left) and IEBC Chairman Ahmed Issack Hassan addressing a press conference in Nairobi on 25th June, 2014.

NAIROBI: June 25, 2014
The Indian Election Commission, in collaboration with the Government of India has offered full scholarships to 10 officers annually from IEBC to train at the Indian's International Institute of Democracy and Election Management.

Indian Election Commissioner Hari Shankar Brahma made this announcement when he met with IEBC Chairman and Commissioners at the Commission's offices in Nairobi. He was accompanied by Indian High Commissioner to Kenya, H.E Yogeshwar Varma.

Mr. Brahma said this move will enhance sharing of best practices in democracy between the two country's. IEBC Chairman Ahmed Issack Hassan expressed his gratitude adding that the Commission is in talks with the Kenyan government to expand the training scholarship.


Hassan is the new Commonwealth Network Chair


Nairobi: Tuesday, 24th June, 2014
The bi-annual Commonwealth Electoral Network (CEN) conference ended today in Nairobi. IEBC Chairman, Mr. Ahmed Issack Hassan took over as the Chairman of CEN Steering Committee from Mr. Marc Mayrand, the Chief Electoral Officer of Canada. Thanking the participants from the 53 member state organization for the honor bestowed to him and IEBC, Mr. Hassan said Kenya will continue to support and make contributions to the success of the network.


Bonchari By-Elections Conducted Successfully


SUNEKA, KISII: Tuesday, June 24, 2014
Ford Peope candidate Zebedeo Opore was elected as the Bonchari Member of National Assembly after garnering 10,947 votes.

Provisional results from all the 81 polling stations had been received electronically at the Itierio Boys High School tallying centre by 10.50pm. The candidate however had to wait until all results declaration forms were verified before he was issued with an election certificate by constituency Returning Officer Mr. Peter Resa.


Bonchari By-Elections Going on Well

bochari byelections

SUNEKA, KISII: Monday, June 23, 2014
Voters in Bonchari Constituency have returned to the polls to elect their Member of the National Assembly in an exercise that has so far progressed smoothly.

Polling stations opened at 6am and will close at 5pm. Electronic Voter Identification Devices (EVID) are in use in all stations while provisional results will be transmitted electronically from polling streams, using specially configured mobile phones. Provisional results will be availed online at from 5pm.


More Articles...

Page 6 of 31

IEBC Signature Tune