Create an IEBC Brand, Election Managers Urged

UKUNDA: Tuesday, May 13, 2014
IEBC Chairman Ahmed Issack Hassan has asked Commission staff to ensure that their work creates a trusted brand that outlives individuals and personalities.

Mr. Hassan said the Commission has been wrongfully accused, especially on the technology hitches that were experienced in the March 2013 elections, saying that staff made selfless sacrifices and delivered credible elections despite the challenges.

The Chairman was speaking in Ukunda, Kwale County at the start of IEBC’s three-day post election evaluation workshop. He said the outcome of the review will be subjected to evaluation and criticism by stakeholders such as political parties.

Justice David Maraga, who represented Chief Justice Dr. Willy Mutunga , called on IEBC officials to be keen on ensuring the results at the polling stations are recorded correctly and signed. Justice Maraga, who is also the Chairman of the Judicial Working Committee on Elections, added that elections are 'high pressure events' and IEBC must take the criticisms with stride by encouraging consultations and dialogue with the public. He called on IEBC to fix even the challenges that may not have been brought before the courts.

Kwale Governor Salim Mvurya said IEBC's self-evaluation is in itself a commitment to ensuring democracy in Kenya. Mr. Mvurya said the Commission is among the critical institutions that nurture devolution because they oversee the elections of those who run Counties.

The workshop brings together all the returning officers from all the 290 constituencies, managers and other officials.


Children’s Assembly elect their leaders

kenya children association

Evans Omondi Odhiambo (Kisumu County) is the President of the new Children’s Assembly. IEBC helped conduct at Kasarani Safaricom Stadium, Nairobi, on 30th April, 2014. The children were drawn from all the 47 counties. The Assembly is an initiative aimed at creating an avenue for children participate in issues of governance democracy.

The Deputy President is Phoebe Tenai (Nandi County) Speaker, Jeremiah Ngoja Ngala (Kilifi County) Deputy speaker, Brenda Wanjiru Munene (Kirinyaga County) Clerk, Abdi Sarkamdadaba (Nairobi County), Deputy Clerk, Hafsa Magan Dahir (Garissa County) and Sargent-At-Arms, Dennis Anthony Otieno (Tran Nzoia). Denis is living with disability. They were sworn in by the Deputy Speaker of the Kenya National Assembly Dr. Hon Joyce Laboso.

Nigerian Senate committee Visits IEBC

Nigerian-Senate-committeeNigerian Senators with IEBC Commissioners in Nairobi on March 25th 2014.

NAIROBI: Tuesday,March 25, 2014
A Nigerian Senate Committee is in the country to benchmark on various governance issues among them legal, administrative and electoral systems and processes.

The team, which is led by the committee chairperson Senator Gemande Barnabas Andyar, held talks with the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission. The discussed centered on Boundaries Delimitation, role of technology in the electoral process and dealing with the Diaspora vote.

The Nigerian delegation was keen on the opportunities and challenges of electoral technology and promised to share the IEBC’s experiences with the Nigerian Electoral Commission (Independent National Electoral Commission-INEC).
The delegation is expected to visit the senate speaker Hon. Ekwe Ethuro and the Senate Committee On legal Affairs.

Present at the discussions were IEBC’s, Chairperson Ahmed Isaack Hassan, Vice Chairperson Lilian Mahiri Zaja, Acting CEO Betty Nyabuto and registrar of Political parties Lucy Ndun’gu.

Students Learn about Elections from IEBC

Students from Our Lady of Mercy, Magundu in Tharaka-Nithi County paid IEBC a courtesy call in their ongoing educational tour of key institutions in the country.

The IEBC Chairperson Ahmed Issack Hassan urged the students to be peace ambassadors and participate in electing leaders as soon as they are eligible to be registered as voters. The over 100 students were also addressed by the Acting CEO, Ms Betty Nyabuto and several Commissioners, educating the students on the mandate of IEBC and the role of the electoral management body in the development of democracy in Kenya.

Mr. Hassan urged the students to be peace ambassadors and also to participate in electing leaders as soon as they are eligible to be registered as voters. The IEBC Chairperson observed that many youth are reluctant to actively participate in electoral matters and only left it to the senior members of the society.

The Chairperson of the IEBC Voter Education and Media committee Commissioner Muthoni Wangai shared the same sentiments and asked the students to ensure they excel in their education and also carry themselves with dignity so as to earn respect from the members of the society. She also asked them to ensure they joined political parties and to initiate, change and discipline in the running of political parties.

The students promised to apply the knowledge gained in their schools when electing members of the students’ council formerly known as school prefects.


Candidates Cleared for Bomachoge Borabu and Bungoma

ERIS-training-NakuruBomachoge Borabu Returning Officer Gilbert Serem (left) explains provisions of the Electoral Code of Conduct to a candidate at Magena High school on 22nd November 2013

Friday, November 22, 2013
Seven candidates have been cleared to contest in the Bomachoge Borabu Constituency Parliamentary by-elections and four for Bungoma Senator by-election, both scheduled for December 19, 2013. The candidates cleared by IEBC’s County Returning Officer, Mr. Ben Misati, to run for the Bungoma senator seat are:
1. Kombo Musikari (New Ford Kenya)
2. Makali David (Independent candidate)
3. Wakoli Bifwoli (The Labour Party of Kenya)
4. Masika Moses Wetangula (Ford Kenya)
IEBC’s Vice-Chairperson Lilian Mahiri-Zaja and Commissioners Thomas Letangule and Bwire Albert took all the candidates through a document validation and confirmation process.


More Articles...

Page 10 of 32

IEBC Signature Tune