INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND BOUNDARIES COMMISSION



MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:

Nairobi, Kenya: June 27, 2022

Subject: Submission of Party Lists by Political Parties

Article 90 of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 provides for election for seats in Parliament and County Assemblies through party lists nomination by Political Parties represented in Parliament and County assemblies. These seats are allocated to Political Parties in proportion to the total number of seats won by candidates to the political party at the general election.

Pursuant to Sections 35 and 36 of the Elections Act, Political Parties were required to submit their party lists to the Commission on or before 25th June 2022 for the following categories:-

- 1. Twelve members nominated to the National Assembly to represent special interests including the youth, persons with disability and workers.
- 2. Sixteen women members nominated to the Senate.
- 3. Two members, being one man and one woman, nominated to the Senate representing the youth.
- 4. Two members, being one man and one woman, nominated to the Senate representing persons with disabilities.
- 5. Special seats members necessary to ensure that no more than two-thirds of membership of a country Assembly are of the same gender.
- 6. Members nominated to a County Assembly from marginalized groups including persons with disabilities and the youth.

The Commission confirms that, by midnight of 25th June 2022, it had received party lists from 81 Political Parties out of the 83 cleared to participate in the 2022 General Election. The two Political Parties that did not submit their party lists are:-

- 1. Forum for Republican Democracy (Ford Asili)
- 2. Ukweli Party.

The Commission will review the party lists within fourteen days of receipt to ascertain their compliance with the requirements of the Constitution, the Elections Act and Regulations. Political Parties whose party list(s) or nominee(s) will not be compliant shall be informed and allowed to resubmit their party list(s) or nominee(s) within seven days from the date they were rejected.

Mount

W. W. CHEBUKATI CHAIRMAN