INDEPENDENT ELECTORAL AND BOUNDARIES COMMISSION



PRESS RELEASE

INTERIM REPORT ON CANDIDATES BY POLITICAL PARTIES

IMMEDIATE RELEASE: May 20, 2017: The Commission wishes to share with the public the interim report on proposed candidates for the August 2017 General Election as submitted by various political parties and independent candidates.

Except for independent candidates, the list was generated by the Candidate Registration Management System (CRMS) which allowed political parties to submit their candidates on-line. The last date of submission was on May 16, 2017.

Political Parties and independent candidates are encouraged to review the list and provide any clarification and correction where required. The list may be found on the IEBC's website.

We wish to remind political parties that they have until tomorrow 21 May 2017, to provide missing information of candidates as communicated earlier.

SUMMARY REPORT

1. NUMBER OF CANDIDATES PER ELECTIVE POST (PARTIES AND INDEPENDENTS)

President	Governor	Senator	County Woman Member of National Assembly	Member of Parliament	Member of County Assembly	Total
19	246	349	327	2,078	12,060	15,082

2. NUMBER OF CANDIDATES BY POLITICAL PARTIES

			County Woman Member of National	Member of	Member of County	
President	Governor	Senator	Assembly	Parliament	Assembly	Total
8	183	263	258	1,473	9,142	11,330

3. NUMBER OF INDEPENDENT CANDIDATES

President	Governor	Senator	Member of National Assembly	Member of Parliament	County Assembly	Total
			County Woman	NA - wala - w - a f	Member of	

4. TOP 10 POLITICAL PARTIES WITH HIGHEST NUMBER OF CANDIDATES

POLITICAL PARTY	GRAND TOTAL
JUBILEE PARTY	1801
ORANGE DEMOCRATIC MOVEMENT	1289
MAENDELEO CHAP CHAP PARTY	911
KENYA AFRICAN NATIONAL UNION	695
AMANI NATIONAL CONGRESS	639
WIPER DEMOCRATIC MOVEMENTO KENYA	632
FORUM FOR RESTORATION OF DEMOCRACY-KENYA	631
CHAMA CHA MASHINANI	372
PARTY OF NATIONAL UNITY	344
DEMOCRATIC PARTY OF KENYA	264

5. TOP 10 COUNTIES WITH HIGHEST NUMBER OF INDEPENDENT CANDIDATES

COUNTY NAME	GRAND TOTAL
NAIROBI	439
KIAMBU	223
NAKURU	193
MERU	169
BUNGOMA	165
KAKAMEGA	145
NYERI	145
KISII	134
MURANGA	127
TRANS NZOIA	114

6. PARTY PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES

PARTY	PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE	DEPUTY
ALLIANCE FOR REAL CHANGE	DIDA MOHAMED ABDUBA	
JUBILEE PARTY	KENYATTA UHURU	RUTO WILLIAM
		SAMOEI
JUSTICE AND FREEDOM PARTY	JUMA JUSTUS ZACHAOS ONYANGO	
MAENDELEO DEMOCRATIC PARTY	MUSUNGU AMRAM INYAMBUKU	
ORANGE DEMOCRATIC MOVEMENT	ODINGA RAILA AMOLO	
THIRDWAY ALLIANCE KENYA	EKURU AUKOT	
UNITED DEMOCRATIC PARTY	KHWA JIRONGO SHAKHALAGA	
WIPER DEMOCRATIC MOVEMENT- KENYA	musyoka stephen kalonzo	

7. INDEPENDENT PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATES

	PRESIDENTIAL CANDIDATE	DEPUTY
1	PETER SOLOMON GICHIRA	
2	MICHAEL WAINAINA WAWERU	
3	JOSEPH WILLIAM NTHIGA NYAGAH	
4	MICHAEL NYAGWACHI ORENGE	
5	MUTHIORA ELIUD KARIARA	
6	JAPHET KAVINGA KALUYU	
7	STEPHEN OWOKO OGANGA	
8	PETER OSOTSI	
9	NAZLIN UMAR RAJPUT	
10	DAVID MUNGA MWADENDA	
11	ERASTUS NYAMERA MASIRA	

OBSERVATIONS

- 1- Following a dispute over Chama Cha Uzalendo list, the Commission has excluded the same from this interim report until further notice.
- 2- Most presidential and gubernatorial candidates are yet to submit names of their respective running mates.
- 3- Some candidates were presented as belonging to more than one party.
- 4- Some of the candidates may not be on the list owing to on-going disputes in court.

ACCESS TO THE CANDIDATE REGISTRATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEM

In order to enhance operational efficiency in making corrections to the lists submitted by political parties, the Commission will allow political parties to access the platform between **now and end of day on May 21, 2017**.

The political party users can only perform the following functions.

- Edit existing records
- Upload pictures/portraits

They cannot however perform the following functions

- Delete a record/s
- Mass Upload of records
- Change/replace existing records

• Create a new record/s

The Commission shall provide an updated list once political parties and independent candidates submit information on required corrections.

W.W. CHEBUKATI CHAIRMAN